skip to primary navigationskip to content


School of Arts and Humanities Committees

The Council of the School

The Council is comprised of representatives from the Faculties and departments of the School. At least one member of the Council must be a member of the General Board. The Council acts as a co-ordinating organisation for the Faculties, and filters much academic business before its transmission to the General Board.

Membership 2016/17

Chair and Head of School Prof. Martin Millett
Deputy Head Prof. Chris Young
Architecture and History of Art Prof. Wendy Pullan
Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Prof. Roel Sterckx
Classics Prof. Richard Hunter
CRASSH Simon Goldhill
Divinity Prof. Janet Soskice
English Prof. Peter de Bolla
Language Centre Jocelyn Wyburd
Modern and Medieval Languages Prof. Adam Ledgeway
Music Dr Sam Barrett
Philosophy Prof. Tim Crane
Secretary of School Milly Bodfish

Meeting dates

  • 18 October 2016
  • 22 November 2016
  • 24 January 2017
  • 7 March 2017
  • 9 May 2017
  • 13 June 2017

The Graduate Education Committee

The GEC is chaired by the Deputy Chairman of the Council of the School ex officio, and its members are representatives of each Degree Committee within the School (normally the academic Degree Committee Secretary), plus the SAH representative on the Post-graduate Admissions Committee and the graduate student representative on the Council of the School.

Heads of Institutions Forum

The Heads of Institutions Forum meets once a term to discuss a specific topic that the School feels is important and is open to Chairs of Faculty, Heads of Institutions, Faculty Administrators and School Officers. Meeting dates for the 2016-17 Academic Year are as follows (the venue and topic will be confirmed by email nearer the time):

  • 15 November 2016
  • 21 February 2017
  • 23 May 2017